Prather, Randle Make Naismith Award Midseason List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Prather, Randle Make Naismith Award Midseason List

    The Atlanta Tipoff Club narrowed its preseason list of 50 candidates for the 2014 Naismith Award to 30 on Thursday, and a pair of basketball players from the Southeastern Conference remain in contention for the prestigious award. The Naismith Trophy is presented annually to the men's college basketball player of the year.

    Representing the SEC on the 30-player list are Florida senior forward Casey Prather and Kentucky freshman forward Julius Randle. The 6-foot-6 Prather leads No. 3 Florida in scoring with 15.3 points per game this season, while Randle leads the Wildcats with 15.8 points per contest and ranks second in the conference with 9.8 rebounds per game.

    The full list of candidates in included below with the SEC players highlighted in bold.

    Players Position Year School
    Keith Anderson Guard/Forward Sophomore UCLA
    Keith Appling Guard Senior Michigan State
    Cameron Bairstow Forward Senior New Mexico
    James Bell Guard Senior Villanova
    Bryce Cotton Guard Senior Providence
    Cleanthony Early Forward Senior Wichita State
    Melvin Ejim Forward Senior Iowa State
    Joel Embiid Center Freshman Kansas
    Tyler Ennis Guard Freshman Syracuse
    C.J. Fair Guard Senior Syracuse
    Aaron Gordon Forward Freshman Arizona
    Gary Harris Guard Sophomore Michigan State
    Joe Jackson Guard Senior Memphis
    Nick Johnson Guard Junior Arizona
    DeAndre Kane Guard Senior Iowa State
    Sean Kilpatrick Guard Senior Cincinnati
    Roy Devyn Marble Guard Senior Iowa
    Doug McDermott Forward Senior Creighton
    Shabazz Napier Guard Senior UConn
    Jabari Parker Forward Freshman Duke
    Lamar Patterson Forward Senior Pittsburgh
    Casey Prather Forward Senior Florida
    Julius Randle Forward Freshman Kentucky
    Marcus Smart Guard Sophomore Oklahoma State
    Russ Smith Guard Senior Louisville
    Nik Stauskas Guard Sophomore Michigan
    Xavier Thomas Guard Senior San Diego State
    Fred VanVleet Guard Sophomore Wichita State
    Andrew Wiggins Guard Freshman Kansas
    Chaz Williams Guard Senior UMass