• JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC To Release McWhorter Winners On Student-Athlete Day

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (March 16, 2011) -- Once again this year, the SEC will release the recipients of the Boyd H. McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship on April 6 in conjunction with National Student-Athlete Day.National Student-Athlete Day, a program of the National Consortium of Academics and Sports, has been held each April 6 since 1987. 
    The Brad Davis SEC Community Service Post-Graduate Scholarship Award winners will be announced on April 5.
    “The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Award is the highest honor a student-athlete can receive in the Southeastern Conference,” said SEC Commissioner Mike Slive.  “The Brad Davis SEC Community Service Award honors the memory of colleague and shares the enthusiasm that he had for helping make their communities a better place.”
    National Student-Athlete Day celebrates the outstanding achievements of high school and college student-athletes who have excelled in academics and athletics while having made significant contributions to their schools and communities.
    “Done right, sports can be a powerful tool to help communities and society, “said Richard Lapchick, Founder and President of the National Consortium for Academics and Sports.  “Perhaps sports’ greatest ambassadors are our student-athletes.  National STUDENT-Athlete Day honors those young men and women.  Having honored over 2.6 million student-athletes since 1997, that is a true testament to the leadership that sport has brought to young people.
    The SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards were first presented in 1986.  The honor was renamed the H. Boyd McWhorter SEC Scholar-Athletes of the Year in May 1990 to honor the former commissioner who served the conference from 1972-86.
    Each year, the SEC, in conjunction with AT&T, an SEC Corporate Champion sponsor, provides the league’s male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship recipients with a $15,000 post-graduate scholarship.  The 22 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $7,500 post-graduate scholarship.  The Davis Award recipients each receive a $6,000 post-graduate scholarship, provided by the SEC.  The 22 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $3,000 post-graduate scholarship.

    The award recipients are chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from the 12 SEC institutions and are honored at the SEC Spring Meetings in Sandestin, Fla. on June 3.
    The SEC Office will be releasing each of its institution’s McWhorter and Davis nominees periodically until the April 6 winners are announced.  The schedule is as follows:
                Alabama – March 17
                Arkansas – March 18
                Auburn – March 21
                Florida – March 22
                Georgia – March 23
                Kentucky – March 24
                LSU – March 25
                Ole Miss – March 28
                Miss. State – March 29
                South Carolina – March 30
                Tennessee – March 31
                Vanderbilt – April 1
                Davis Community Service Post-Graduate Scholarship Recipients – April 5
                McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Recipients – April 6
    Last year’s McWhorter Award recipients were Auburn swimmer Jordan Anderson and Tennessee track & field athlete Phoebe Wright.  The Davis Award recipients were Georgia track & field athlete John Egan and Auburn gymnast Kissy Voss.