• JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    McWhorter and Davis Award Nominees: Arkansas

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala., March 18 – Track and field athlete Luke Laird and gymnast Michelle Stout have been nominated for the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship and tennis player Chris Nott and soccer player Britni Williams have been nominated for the Brad Davis Community Service Post-Graduate Scholarship by the University of Arkansas.

    The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship has been presented by the Southeastern Conference since 1986 to the league’s top male and female scholar-athletes. 

    The SEC Community Service Post-Graduate Scholarship was named for former Associate Commissioner Brad Davis.  Davis succumbed to cancer on March 2, 2006.  He had been a member of the SEC staff since 1988, first serving as an assistant commissioner until 1994 when he was promoted to associate commissioner.

    The Southeastern Conference will name the 2010 recipients of the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship on April 6 in conjunction with National Student-Athlete Day.  The Davis Community Service Post-Graduate Scholarship winners will be announced on April 5.

    Highlights of the Razorbacks’ nominees include:

    Luke Laird, Track and Field (Male McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Nominee)

    • Will earn a B.S. degree in Horticulture in May 2011
    • Two-time member of United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coach’s Association All-Academic Team.
    • President’s List and Dean’s List student
    • Chairman of UA’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee Community Service efforts
    • Volunteered for Lift Up America (distribution to local food pantries)
    • Volunteered for Book Hogs, reading to local elementary school children
    • Three-year letter winner
    • First-team All-SEC, SEC Champion, USA Junior Champion, all-region and National Qualifier in 2008
    • Participated in SEC’s “Together We Can” food drive and Adopt-a-Street in the Fayetteville community.
    • The Gardner, Kansas native is the son of Scott and Tammy Laird

    Michelle Stout, Gymnastics (Female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Nominee)

    • Earned B.S. degree in Marketing Management in May 2010
    • Will complete Masters of Education in May 2011
    • Member of the University of Arkansas Honor Roll six times
    • National Association of Collegiate Gymnastics Coaches/Women Scholastic Scholar-Athlete, 2007
    • Named Razorback Academic Champion in Fall 2010
    • Four-time first-team All-American (vault-twice, uneven bars, all-around)
    • Member of Arkansas’ Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, and was organization’s vice president in 2010
    • Volunteered for SEC Canned Food Drive, Reading with the Razorbacks, Razorback Relief: Operation Haiti, and Lift Up America.
    • Participated in NCAA Leadership Conference
    • The Endwell, N.Y. native is the daughter of Tom Stout and Linda VanPatten.

    Chris Nott, Tennis (Male Davis Community Service Nominee)

    • Will earn a B.S. degree in International Business in December 2011
    • Member of SEC Freshman Academic Honor Roll
    • Four-year starter for the Razorback tennis team and team captain this season
    • Second-team All-SEC as a junior (2009-10)
    • Participated in Book Hogs program (reading to children) and Sweat Hawgs (working with kids in PE classes).
    • Held a USTA Tennis Clinic for kids and also taught kids tennis at David Johnson II Memorial Kids Tennis Day.
    • Participated in Lift Up America food drive.
    • The Chorley, England native, is the son of Derek and Lorraine Nott.
    Britni Williams, Soccer (Female Davis Community Service Nominee)

    • Will earn a B.A. degree in Sociology and Criminal Justice in May 2011.
    • Athletic Director’s List student and member of Razorback Honor Roll
    • Four-year starter at goalie and team captain as a senior (2010)
    • Is Arkansas’ all-time leader with 27 career shutouts and 30 career wins.
    • She is Arkansas’ representative to the SEC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.
    • Participated in Book Hogs program (reading to children), Sweat Hawgs (working with kids in PE classes) and the Lift Up America food drive.
    • Volunteered at soccer clinics for youth, Razorback Relief: Operation Haiti and the SEC’s “Together We Can” food drive.
    • Member of SEC Academic Honor Roll
    • The Rancho Cucamonga, Calif. native is the daughter of Robert and Deborah Williams.
    The SEC Office will be releasing each of its institution’s nominees periodically until the April 6 winners are announced.  The schedule is as follows:

    Alabama – McWhorter:  Greg McElroy, football (male); Kayla Hoffman, gymnastics (female) / Davis:  Dan Armstrong, swimming & diving (male); Jessica Allaway, rowing (female).

    Arkansas – McWhorter:  Luke Laird, track & field (male); Michelle Stout, gymnastics (female) / Davis:  Chris Nott, tennis (male); Britni Williams, soccer (female).
    Auburn – March 21
    Florida – March 22
    Georgia – March 23
    Kentucky – March 24
    LSU – March 25
    Ole Miss – March 28
    Miss. State – March 29
    South Carolina – March 30
    Tennessee – March 31
    Vanderbilt – April 1

    National Student-Athlete Day was created in 1987 by the National Consortium for Academics and Sports (NCAS) and Northeastern University's Center for the Study of Sport in Society, and presented by the National Collegiate Athletics Association (NCAA) and the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS).

    National Student-Athlete Day is held each April 6 to celebrate outstanding student-athletes who have achieved excellence in academics and athletics while having made significant contributions to the community. It is also a time to recognize those parents, teachers, coaches and school systems which make it possible for young people to find the balance between academics and athletics.

    Each year, the SEC, in conjunction with AT&T, an SEC Corporate Champion sponsor, provides the league’s male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship recipients with a $15,000 post-graduate scholarship.  The 22 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $7,500 post-graduate scholarship.  The Davis Award recipients each receive a $6,000 post-graduate scholarship, provided by the SEC.  The 22 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $3,000 post-graduate scholarship.

    The award recipients are chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from the 12 SEC institutions and are honored at the SEC Spring Meetings in Sandestin, Fla. on June 3.

    Last year’s McWhorter Award recipients were Auburn swimmer Jordan Anderson and Tennessee track & field athlete Phoebe Wright.  The Davis Award recipients were Georgia track & field athlete John Egan and Auburn gymnast Krissy Voss.