• JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC To Release McWhorter Post-Graduate Scholarship Recipients

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (March 19, 2012) – The Southeastern Conference will the recipients of the Boyd H. McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship on April 6 in conjunction with National Student-Athlete Day. 
    The SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards was first presented in 1986.  The honor was renamed the H. Boyd McWhorter SEC Scholar-Athletes of the Year in May 1990 to honor the former commissioner who served the conference from 1972-86.
    The Brad Davis SEC Community Service Post-Graduate Scholarship Award winners will be announced on April 5.
    “The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Award is the highest honor a student-athlete can receive in the Southeastern Conference,” said SEC Commissioner Mike Slive.  “It highlights academic and athletic achievements at the highest level in the nation’s premier conference.”
    The SEC Community Service Award is named for Brad Davis, who succumbed to cancer on March 2, 2006.  He had been a member of the SEC staff since 1988, first serving as an assistant commissioner until 1994 when he was promoted to associate commissioner.
    “The Brad Davis SEC Community Service Award honors the memory of a colleague and shares the enthusiasm that he had for helping make his community a better place,” added Slive.  “The recipients of this honor make a tremendous commitment to honor Brad’s legacy.”
    This marks the ninth straight year that the SEC has released the McWhorter recipients to coincide with National Student-Athlete Day.
    National Student-Athlete Day, a program of the National Consortium of Academics and Sports, has been held each April 6 since 1987. 
    National Student-Athlete Day celebrates the outstanding achievements of high school and college student-athletes who have excelled in academics and athletics while having made significant contributions to their schools and communities.
    "With 2012 being the 25th celebration of National Student-Athlete Day, we are proud to have honored over 3.1 million college and high school student-athletes nationwide. Those individuals who epitomize the true meaning of what being a student-athlete means,” said Dr. Richard E. Lapchick, Founder and President of the National Consortium for Academics and Sports.  “A well-rounded individual who uses their success on the playing field and in the classroom to bring people together, make a difference in the community and become successful people in society. This day is a tribute to all things great about athletes and sport."
    Each year, the SEC, in conjunction with AT&T, an SEC Corporate Champion sponsor, provides the league’s male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship recipients with a $15,000 post-graduate scholarship.  The 22 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $7,500 post-graduate scholarship.  The Davis Award recipients each receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship, provided by the SEC.  The 22 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $5,000 post-graduate scholarship.

    The award recipients are chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from the 12 SEC institutions and are honored at the SEC Spring Meetings in Sandestin, Fla. on May 31.
    The SEC Office will be releasing each of its institution’s McWhorter and Davis nominees periodically until the April 6 winners are announced.  The schedule is as follows:
                    Alabama – March 20
                    Arkansas – March 21
                    Auburn – March 22
                    Florida – March 23
                    Georgia – March 26
                    Kentucky – March 27
                    LSU – March 28
                    Ole Miss – March 29
                    Miss. State – March 30
                    South Carolina – April 2
                    Tennessee – April 3
                    Vanderbilt – April 4
                    Davis Community Service Post-Graduate Scholarship Recipients – April 5
                    McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Recipients – April 6
    Last year’s McWhorter Award recipients were Dan Mazzaferro and Erica Meissner, both members of the Auburn swimming & diving teams.  The Davis Award recipients were Ole Miss track & field athlete Barnabus Kirui and Georgia track & field athlete Bridget Lyons.