Five From SEC On Mackey Award Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Five From SEC On Mackey Award Watch List

    Five Southeastern Conference football players have been named to the 2013 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2013 John Mackey Award recipient will be presented live on December 12, 2013 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show: 6:00 p.m. ET on ESPNU.

    Other key dates include the announcement of the 2013 Mackey Midseason Watch List on October 14, 2013, the Mackey Semi-Finalists on November 18, 2013 and the announcement of the 2013 Mackey Finalists on November 25, 2013. All future announcements can be found at

    NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position.  A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.  
    The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists twelve NFL players as alumni: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03) of the New York Jets, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06) of the of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis ('07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman ('08) of the Atlanta Falcons, Aaron Hernandez ('09), D.J. Williams ('10) of the Green Bay Packers, Dwayne Allen ('11) of the Indianapolis Colts and the 2012 John Mackey Award recipient Tyler Eifert of the Cincinnati Bengals.    
    2013 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List  
    Rory Anderson, South Carolina

    Alex Bayer, Bowling Green
    Ted Bolster, Indiana
    Kyle Carter, Penn State
    Gerald Christian, Louisville
    Chris Coyle, Arizona State
    Nexon Dorvilus, Florida Atlantic
    Eric Ebron, North Carolina
    Zane Fakes, Ball State
    C.J. Fiedorowicz, Iowa
    Kaneakua Friel, BYU
    Devin Funchess, Michigan
    Crockett Gillmore, Colorado State
    Xavier Grimble, USC
    Jeff Heuerman, Ohio State
    Gabe Holmes, Purdue
    Gator Hoskins, Marshall
    Marcel Jensen, Fresno State
    Malcolm Johnson, Mississippi State
    Luke Kaumatule, Stanford
    Ben Koyack, Notre Dame
    Gabe Linehan, Boise State
    Colt Lyerla, Oregon
    Arthur Lynch, Georgia
    Jake McGee, Virginia
    Jake Murphy, Utah
    Jordan Najvar, Baylor
    Troy Niklas, Notre Dame
    Nick O’Leary, Florida State
    Jacob Pedersen, Wisconsin
    Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Washington
    Randall Telfer, USC
    C.J. Uzomah, Auburn
    Brian Vogler, Alabama

    Beckett Wales, Syracuse
    Clive Walford, Miami
    Asa Watson, NC State